The organisations behind the Foundation for European Forest Research are the Finnish Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry, the City of Joensuu and the European Forest Institute.

The Foundation is administered by the Board of Directors which is elected for a three-year term. During the term 2013–2015, the Board of Directors consists of the following six members:

Mr. Kari Karjalainen (Chairman), Mayor, City of Joensuu
Dr. Liisa Saarenmaa (Vice Chairman), Deputy Director-General, Finnish Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry 
Dr. Pentti Hyttinen, Region Mayor, Regional Council of North Karelia
Dr. Marc Palahí, Interim Director, European Forest Institute
Dr. Heikki Pajuoja, Managing Director, Metsäteho Oy
Dr. Panu Kallio, Vice President, OP-Pohjola Group Central Cooperative